© 2012 MLB Advanced Media, L.P. All rights reserved.

06/26/12 3:00 PM ET

Votes needed to bolster Braun as ASG starter

CINCINNATI -- With only days remaining in fan balloting, the Brewers' Ryan Braun has climbed back into position to start the 83rd All-Star Game.

Braun, who has been voted to the National League's starting outfield in each of the past four seasons, led all NL players in votes last season, but this year, he needed a rally. After slipping to fourth among the league's outfielders in last week's update, he climbed back to third in the final balloting update released Tuesday.

The online voting closes at 10:59 p.m. CT on Thursday. Fans can cast their votes for starters up to 25 times at MLB.com and all 30 club sites -- online or via your mobile device -- using the 2012 All-Star Game MLB.com Ballot.

In the NL outfield, it's a four-man race for three spots. The Dodgers' Matt Kemp continued to lead with more than 4.1 million votes, and the Cardinals' Carlos Beltran remained second with 3.7 million votes. Braun was third with 3,168,617 votes, just ahead of the Giants' Melky Cabrera, at 3,045,884 votes.

There is a chance that both Braun and Cabrera will make the cut. Kemp remains on the disabled list with a hamstring injury, and Dodgers manager Don Mattingly said this week that Kemp will not play in the All-Star Game if he cannot play for Los Angeles first.

Braun is the Brewers' only player with a chance to make the starting lineup, but Rickie Weeks climbed to fourth among NL second basemen in the latest balloting update, with more than 1.2 million votes. The Braves' Dan Uggla leads that race with more than 2.6 million votes.

Injured Brewers backstop Jonathan Lucroy continued running fifth among NL catchers.

The Brewers are offering an incentive to vote. Fans who vote at least 21 times for their favorite Milwaukee player will be entered into a drawing to win Braun's Miller Park Suite for a night, complete with tickets, food and a personal visit from Braun. For details, see the special section of Brewers.com.

In addition to their votes to set the starting lineups, fans can also once again participate in the State Farm Home Run Derby Fan Poll. Fans will have the opportunity to select three players in each league who they would most like to see participate in the State Farm Home Run Derby. The 2012 State Farm Home Run Derby -- part of Gatorade All-Star Workout Day -- will be broadcast live on ESPN, ESPN HD, ESPN Deportes and ESPN Radio in the United States beginning at 7 p.m. CT on Monday, July 9.

The 2012 American League and National League All-Star teams will be unveiled on Sunday, on the 2012 MLB All-Star Game Selection Show, televised nationally on TBS. Baseball fans around the world will then be able to select the final player on each team via the 2012 All-Star Game Final Vote on MLB.com.

And the voting doesn't end there. The final phase of All-Star Game voting will again have fans participating in the official voting for the Ted Williams All-Star Game Most Valuable Player Award presented by Chevrolet. During the Midsummer Classic, fans will vote exclusively online at MLB.com via the 2012 All-Star Game MLB.com MVP Vote, and their voice will represent 20 percent of the official vote determining the recipient of the Arch Ward Trophy.

The 2012 All-Star Game will be played at Kauffman Stadium in Kansas City on Tuesday, July 10. Come to MLB.com for extensive online coverage of the All-Star Week festivities.

The 83rd All-Star Game will be televised nationally by FOX Sports, in Canada by Rogers Sportsnet and RDS, and worldwide by partners in more than 200 countries via MLB International's independent feed. ESPN Radio and ESPN Radio Deportes will provide national radio coverage of the All-Star Game. MLB Network and Sirius XM will also provide comprehensive All-Star Week coverage. For more information, please visit allstargame.com or royals.com/asg.

Adam McCalvy is a reporter for MLB.com. Read his blog, Brew Beat, and follow him on Twitter at @AdamMcCalvy. This story was not subject to the approval of Major League Baseball or its clubs.