© 2008 MLB Advanced Media, L.P. All rights reserved.

11/13/08 5:46 PM EST

Braun nets first Silver Slugger Award

Brewers outfielder defied sophomore slump to pound NL pitching

MILWAUKEE -- Add Ryan Braun's name to the list of Brewers Silver Sluggers.

Braun was a first-time winner of the award, decided by Major League coaches and managers, presented by Louisville Slugger and announced on Thursday. He moved from third base to left field in 2008, and the switch did little to quiet his bat as Braun batted .285 with 37 home runs and 106 RBIs despite playing the final six weeks of the regular season with a back injury.

He was the Brewers' second Silver Slugger in as many seasons. First baseman Prince Fielder was honored with the award last season, when he belted 50 home runs. The Cardinals' Albert Pujols won the award at first base this year.

Louisville Slugger's Silver Slugger Award winners were determined by a vote of Major League Baseball coaches and managers who vote for the players they felt were the best offensive producers at each position in both the American and National Leagues in 2008. Selections are based on a combination of offensive statistics including batting average, on-base percentage and slugging percentage, as well as the coaches' and managers' general impressions of a player's overall offensive value. Managers and coaches were not allowed to vote for players on their own team.

2008 Silver Sluggers
 C Joe Mauer, MIN
1B Justin Morneau, MIN
2B Dustin Pedroia, BOS
3B Alex Rodriguez, NYY
SS Derek Jeter, NYY
OF Josh Hamilton, TEX
OF Carlos Quentin, CWS
OF Grady Sizemore, CLE
DH Aubrey Huff, BAL
C Brian McCann, ATL
1B Albert Pujols, STL
2B Chase Utley, PHI
3B David Wright, NYM
SS Hanley Ramirez, FLA
OF Ryan Braun, MIL
OF Matt Holliday, COL
OF Ryan Ludwick, STL
P Carlos Zambrano, CHC

The specially designed Silver Slugger will be presented to each player by a representative of the Hillerich & Bradsby Co., makers of Louisville Slugger, the Official Bat of Major League Baseball, in a ceremony early in the 2009 season. The trophy is three feet tall and bears the engraved name of the winner and his Silver Slugger teammates in his respective league. The Silver Slugger Award was instituted by H&B in 1980.

Brewers players have been honored 13 times with Silver Slugger Awards, with three players winning the award more than once. First baseman Cecil Cooper won it in three consecutive seasons from 1980-82, Robin Yount won it twice as a shortstop (1980, '82) and once as an outfielder ('89) and Paul Molitor won it as a designated hitter in 1987 and '88. Outfielder Ben Oglivie ('80), designated hitter Dave Parker ('90) and outfielder Carlos Lee (2005), along with Fielder and Braun, have won one Silver Slugger apiece during their Brewers tenure.

Also on the list of this year's NL winners were Braves catcher Brian McCann, Pujols, Phillies second baseman Chase Utley, Mets third baseman David Wright, Marlins shortstop Hanley Ramirez, Matt Holliday of the Rockies (he was traded to Oakland this week) and Ryan Ludwick of the Cardinals and Cubs pitcher Carlos Zambrano.

Adam McCalvy is a reporter for MLB.com. This story was not subject to the approval of Major League Baseball or its clubs.