© 2008 MLB Advanced Media, L.P. All rights reserved.

08/31/08 7:44 PM ET

Brewers appeal scorer's decision

Club upset with call on only hit Sabathia allowed Sunday

PITTSBURGH -- The Brewers sent a DVD and a written explanation to Major League Baseball following the conclusion of Sunday's game between the Brewers and Pirates, Brewers media relations manager John Steinmiller said.

Milwaukee is upset over a play that was ruled a hit instead of error in the Brewers' 7-0 win over Pittsburgh. If the play was called an error, starter CC Sabathia would have recorded the second no-hitter in franchise history.

On the play, Sabathia was unable to cleanly field a dribbler by Pirates third baseman Andy LaRoche in the fifth inning.

Milwaukee's protest will be sent to Major League Baseball's senior vice president of club relations Phyllis Merhige and the Commissioner's Office to appeal the call. The information was to be sent immediately after the game.

"I saw it, called it immediately [and] believed it was a hit," the game's official scorer, Bob Webb, said. "I think that's a hit in every circumstance. It was a difficult play. Even if he comes up with the ball cleanly, in my estimation, he's got more than ordinary difficulty in getting the runner at first base."

Under MLB rules, the official scorer is the only person that may change a judgment call within 24 hours of a game's conclusion. The league, after considering the evidence submitted by the Brewers, may request that the official scorer change a judgment call, but cannot force the scorer to change his ruling.

Only if the call is deemed "erroneous" may the league order a change in a judgment call.

"He accomplished a no-hitter and wasn't given what he deserved," Brewers manager Ned Yost said.

Todd Krise is an associate reporter for MLB.com. This story was not subject to the approval of Major League Baseball or its clubs.